RSS Feed

Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

I know my latest post is overdue.  It’s been hectic in my house for the last 14 days and my posts have been put off.  We went out of town, my dad went into emergency surgery, we started a construction project in our living room (the mess is scattered around the house), my workload is unusually heavy, my kids are out of summer school and in VBS, and all the regular tasks (laundry, cleaning, cooking, etc.) are still required of me.

Tonight, we are having dinner over at a friend’s house and I am bringing the tacos.  My friend and I share the same dilemma: figuring out something to make for dinner (every night) that the kids won’t complain about too much, that the fits in the husband’s P90X diet, that’s not so bland for our foodie palates, and that is not on some predictable meal rotation.  The solution for me was to make impossibly easy shredded chicken in the slow cooker (since it’s 95 outside) and bring all the toppings for the kids (and healthy hubs) to pick and choose what they want.

Oh, and thanks to Tami for sharing this recipe with me last fall…it’s a family favorite!

Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken Tacos

Ingredients

  • 1 lb frozen boneless, skinless chicken breast/tenders/thighs
  • 1/4 c taco seasoning (or 1 packet)
  • 1 c water

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients and cook on high for 3 hours or low for 6.
  2. Serve in soft tortillas or shells with sour cream, cheese, lettuce, tomato, avocado, etc.
One response »

Leave a Reply

